At the 2015 Summer Biomechanics, Bioengineering and Biotransport Conference (SB3C), Drs. Jennifer Wayne, David Vorp and Matt Gounis announced the establishment of the ASME Savio L-Y. Woo Translational Biomechanics Medal. Dr. Jennifer Wayne, who spearheaded the effort to establish the award stated, “It forever acknowledges what he (Dr. Woo) has accomplished for the bioengineering field and the ASME Bioengineering Division”. During Dr. Woo’s acceptance speech he said, “This medal is really a recognition of the success of my prized pupils and junior colleagues as well as kind and good friends in high (leadership) places.” The first medal is expected to be awarded at the 2016 SB3C in National Harbor, MD.